V6 Update database update; how long?

Al_M
Posts: 28
Joined: 21 Jun 19 14:09
Location: Kansas City, USA

Re: V6 Update database update; how long?

Post by Al_M » 16 Feb 21 19:02

OK. After 2+ hours of waiting and 0% CPU usage, I killed the application.
Rebooted the computer and tried again.
This time I watched the Activity monitor while starting the program.
PhotoSupreme initially uses a small amount of CPU (spike to 21.9%) then after about 5 seconds drops to 0 and shows "Not Responding".
This occurs only after accepting the prompts to upgrade the database. Before that the CPU is 0% but does not show "Not Responding".
I am running out of ideas. At this point I have no idea what state my database is in. I do have daily backups, the latest which was created last night before any upgrade attempts.
My next guess would be to uninstall the application and try re-installing again...
Photo Supreme V6.x Server Edition
PostgreSQL 12
macOS 11.1 (Big Sur)
Mac Pro (Late 2013), 3.0 GHz 8-Core Xeon E5, 64 GB DDR3
MacBook Pro (Mid 2015), 2.5 GHz Quad-Core i7, 16 GB DDR3L

Hert
Posts: 6970
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: V6 Update database update; how long?

Post by Hert » 16 Feb 21 19:30

If you were using the latest version of V5 before this then there’s no need to worry about the database state. Try again, if it stalls, kill it (maybe after a few minutes) and start again. I am looking into this but up to now all my test databases upgraded without issue.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

Al_M
Posts: 28
Joined: 21 Jun 19 14:09
Location: Kansas City, USA

Re: V6 Update database update; how long?

Post by Al_M » 17 Feb 21 13:33

Hert,

I don't know what else to do except completely remove PSu and try to re-install it.
I let database conversion try to run for the last 18 or so hours and when I came to it this morning all I saw was the spinning beach ball again.
CPU at 0%. Had to kill it again.
Any suggestions? There is something definitely wrong, but V5 worked flawlessly.
I use just the day before yesterday without incident (still V5).
Photo Supreme V6.x Server Edition
PostgreSQL 12
macOS 11.1 (Big Sur)
Mac Pro (Late 2013), 3.0 GHz 8-Core Xeon E5, 64 GB DDR3
MacBook Pro (Mid 2015), 2.5 GHz Quad-Core i7, 16 GB DDR3L

Al_M
Posts: 28
Joined: 21 Jun 19 14:09
Location: Kansas City, USA

Re: V6 Update database update; how long?

Post by Al_M » 17 Feb 21 14:15

UPDATE: I noticed build 3546 was posted.
I installed it (right over the previous 3541) and it swiftly moved right past the conversion dialog and opened my last used (in V5) tab.
Which tells me that the conversion had already been accomplished, but for some reason could not proceed and would crash.
So thanks for fixing it in 3546!
All is good for now.
Photo Supreme V6.x Server Edition
PostgreSQL 12
macOS 11.1 (Big Sur)
Mac Pro (Late 2013), 3.0 GHz 8-Core Xeon E5, 64 GB DDR3
MacBook Pro (Mid 2015), 2.5 GHz Quad-Core i7, 16 GB DDR3L

Link648099
Posts: 17
Joined: 08 Feb 10 15:03

Re: V6 Update database update; how long?

Post by Link648099 » 17 Feb 21 18:24

I'm running into the same issue too.

Running the latest build 3546 on a 2017 iMac 5K.

Spinning beach ball with 0% CPU usage in Activity Monitor.

Going to try it on my M1 MacBook Pro and see what happens.

Link648099
Posts: 17
Joined: 08 Feb 10 15:03

Re: V6 Update database update; how long?

Post by Link648099 » 17 Feb 21 18:34

The issue was non-existent with my M1 MacBook Pro. It upgraded the database in about two seconds and was ready to go. I'm now compacting everything just for fun.

For what its worth, here are my specs for both computers:

iMac Retina 5K 2017, macOS Big Sur 11.2.1, 24 GB ram

MacBook Pro M1 (2020), macOS Big Sur 11.2, 16 GB ram

Maybe there's an issue with the Big Sur 11.2.1 update?

Either way, once the compacting finishes I'll hook it back up to my iMac and see what happens.

emha
Posts: 21
Joined: 17 Oct 20 22:27

Re: V6 Update database update; how long?

Post by emha » 23 Feb 21 11:04

MacBook Pro M1
After Installing the V6 over the V5 I start PSu and click for updating the Database (around 100k images).
After 30 Minutes I shut down psu because in the activity monitor its red marked, the app don't answer.
I start psu again. A prompt tells me, the a process is currently updating...
Now are more than 30 minutes later and the prompt is furthermore active.

How long should I wait? I need the book for other work. What happens if I click ignore and continue?

Hert
Posts: 6970
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: V6 Update database update; how long?

Post by Hert » 23 Feb 21 12:17

After you killed the upgrade and you restart the application then you'll get the message that a upgrade is already in progress.
There, click the button at the bottom of that dialog to Ignore and continue.

PS. do you have the latest version installed? This upgrade issue should be resolved.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

emha
Posts: 21
Joined: 17 Oct 20 22:27

Re: V6 Update database update; how long?

Post by emha » 23 Feb 21 12:56

Ok, I download the latest v6 and reinstall it.
Now it seems that its work.
Thank you.

captainhunt
Posts: 19
Joined: 08 Nov 16 7:53

Re: V6 Update database update; how long?

Post by captainhunt » 29 Mar 21 16:23

I am running into a very similar issue here with v6 built 3641, just installed it on a Mac Pro (2018), BigSur 11.1. The database upgrade (100k pics) hangs for ever > 3h. So I finally had to kill the process. Restarting psu hangs again during database upgrade.

Hert
Posts: 6970
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: V6 Update database update; how long?

Post by Hert » 29 Mar 21 17:58

Please upload a zipped version of your cat.db file (no need for thumbs.db) to your cloud drive and send a download link to support@idimager.com
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

captainhunt
Posts: 19
Joined: 08 Nov 16 7:53

Re: V6 Update database update; how long?

Post by captainhunt » 29 Mar 21 19:05

thanks for the offer. Meanwhile I succeeded by opening another catalogue from the command line, and then within psu switching to the catalogue file that couldnt be migrated. There upgrading worked.
But in case you need a testcase for debugging I sent you the cat.db as requested.

Post Reply