access violation error

A forum for questions about how IDimager works
Post Reply
doug_w
Posts: 77
Joined: 14 Apr 08 3:52

access violation error

Post by doug_w » 21 Oct 09 4:04

I get this error message when updating images details (adding a description) to multiple images, and when running a batch file that creates a web version of a jpg. I also see an error message at the same address (see attached jpg) when I attempt to run the Google Maps script panel. Can anyone help?

C:\Users\Doug\Desktop\DRW_D300_20091018899__DSC5711.jpg: Access violation at address 0081C040 in module 'IDimager.exe'. Read of address 00000088 (0)

Thanks.

doug
Attachments
error.jpg
error.jpg (40.53 KiB) Viewed 2684 times
photography.dougwieringa.com

doug_w
Posts: 77
Joined: 14 Apr 08 3:52

Re: access violation error

Post by doug_w » 01 Nov 09 3:58

Can anyone help with this? Symptoms I am experiencing for images I import into my catalog:

1. Image details are blank and I do not see all the tabs (see screen shot).
2. I cannot alt-click stars on the thumbnail to rate an image.
3. A shift-crtl-f12 generates the following error message (as reported above): Error file: C:\Users\Doug\Pictures - Final\Cataloged\2009\DRW_D300_20091031904__DSC5761.jpg; Access violation at address 0081C040 in module 'IDimager.exe'. Read of address 00000088 (0)
4. When I attempt to run a batch file that creates a web version I get the same error.

I am able to compact my catalog without errors. I have reinstalled IDI (4.2.0.6-ProSL). I tried the v5 beta, uninstalled it, and reinstalled v4 -- could that be causing this problem? I do not have any problems with images that are already in my catalog.

I appreciate the help, as I'm kind of stuck.
Attachments
IDI-screen-shot.jpg
IDI-screen-shot.jpg (159.26 KiB) Viewed 2668 times
photography.dougwieringa.com

Hert
Posts: 21509
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: access violation error

Post by Hert » 05 Nov 09 8:42

Doug,

This is a script error that you're getting. My bet is that it is one of the script in the Options (like status bar script, or image info script, etc). Try this:

1. Close IDimager
2. Backup your options.imb file (find it with Windows Explorer in the folder %localappdata%\IDimager)
3. Start IDImager
4. Open the option with Tools -> Options
5. Reset the option by clicking that button in the lower left hand corner
6. Click Apply

Do you still get the error after that? If not, can you send me the options.imb file that you backed up?

Thanks

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Hert
Posts: 21509
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: access violation error

Post by Hert » 06 Nov 09 10:19

Doug,

Thank you for your options file. There's no error in those scripts.

Do you have any of the script panels open?
Are you using V4 or V5 beta?

Thank you

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

doug_w
Posts: 77
Joined: 14 Apr 08 3:52

Re: access violation error

Post by doug_w » 06 Nov 09 23:18

The preview and image details panels are normally open for me (not sure if you consider them script panels). I first saw this problem when using the Google maps panel, although I do not normally have that panel open.

I am using v4. I tried v5 and went back to v4 and this problem first occurred after going back to v4.

doug
photography.dougwieringa.com

DirkS
moderator
Posts: 5234
Joined: 25 May 08 14:28
Location: Essex, UK

Re: access violation error

Post by DirkS » 06 Nov 09 23:27

Doug,

Did you try Hert's suggestion to back up the options and reset them (a few posts up)?

Gr.
Dirk.
Problems searching the forum? Try Google Site Search by adding 'site:forum.idimager.com' to a standard Google search.

doug_w
Posts: 77
Joined: 14 Apr 08 3:52

Re: access violation error

Post by doug_w » 06 Nov 09 23:35

Yes, that didn't work.

doug
photography.dougwieringa.com

doug_w
Posts: 77
Joined: 14 Apr 08 3:52

Re: access violation error

Post by doug_w » 11 Nov 09 2:12

Any update on this...? Let me know if I can provide any more information to help troubleshoot or if there's a way I can reset IDImager to a state where I don't get this error.

I found one other post that seems to report a similar error but it's in German....

http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php ... 040#p62798
photography.dougwieringa.com

mphillips
Posts: 2035
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: access violation error

Post by mphillips » 11 Nov 09 5:43

Hi Doug

Could you have a look at the database version by:

In V5 - Tools - Catalog Maintenance - Version XXXX

I don't have a V4 running here - can anyone help as to where that option is in V4 please :-)

Regards

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

Mike Buckley
Posts: 4561
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: access violation error

Post by Mike Buckley » 11 Nov 09 5:47

mphillips wrote:can anyone help as to where that option is in V4 please
Tools >> Catalog Manager >> The number is displayed in the bottom left corner of the dialog menu.

doug_w
Posts: 77
Joined: 14 Apr 08 3:52

Re: access violation error

Post by doug_w » 11 Nov 09 6:28

version 2797
photography.dougwieringa.com

mphillips
Posts: 2035
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: access violation error

Post by mphillips » 11 Nov 09 6:47

Thanks Doug - Doesn't help much :-) I was just trying to check if the database was a V4 (which it is) or V5 database (V5 = 2822)

I would recommend moving up to the lastest V5 Beta. Its very stable and 99.9% of the bugs have been ironed out.

Just looking at the German post, and I don't speak German at all, the following stood out after he had upgraded to V5 -
alles tipptopp
- and I assume Tipptopp is the German equivalent of tickety boo :mrgreen:

Sorry I can't be of more assitance.

Regards

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

doug_w
Posts: 77
Joined: 14 Apr 08 3:52

Re: access violation error

Post by doug_w » 12 Nov 09 1:30

Going back to v5 seems to have fixed the problem. Everything seems okay now. Thanks for the help, everyone.

doug
photography.dougwieringa.com

lippe
Posts: 1731
Joined: 12 Aug 06 12:26
Location: Wondelgem (Belgium)

Re: access violation error

Post by lippe » 13 Nov 09 19:24

Hi,

I have the same Access violation at address 0081C040 in module 'idImager.exe'. Lezen of address 00000088 (0) while updating the image details in batch mode. (a window list the path and filename with the error)
I have recently changed the setting to store all metadata in the catalog. (V4.2.06)

While i opened the listed images with JPEGsnoop (by Calvin Hass1.4.1) i noticed some nonsense in the Make and Model in the EXIF IFD0.

I developed new jpg versions from raw to replace them. I wanted to save the xmp data from the catalog to the new versions but i could not load the xmp data to the properties window.
I imported the xmp data from the JPG to replace the data in the catalog with empty values. Then saved successfully a detail profile to the images.

Lippe,
Photo Supreme V3, LR6, FPV, PSE14 - vaio i5 @ 2.5GHz + 8GB , 850 EVO 500GB - WD 1TB - Windows 10 Pro 64 bits- DS216play - EOS 600D

Post Reply