beginner's questions: keywords, JPG+RAW etc

Post Reply
guill69f
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Nov 17 9:22

beginner's questions: keywords, JPG+RAW etc

Post by guill69f » 12 Nov 17 11:14

Hi,

I have activated the trial version of Photo Supreme and I have some questions in mind:
  • is it possible to export keyword lists from Photo Supreme to my desktop, in case I would like to import the list into another program?
  • is there a way to automatically generate xmp files while doing edits in Photo
  • if I shoot JPG+RAW with my camera, is there a way to see only one thumbnail for the 2 versions of a given picture? apaprently it is possible during the import process (found a video from ID Imager on that), but it is not working for me, maybe I am doing something wrong
  • and last, for now, I have noticed that all my edits in Photo Supreme (keywords, rating etc) are properly manage in Capture One, except (1) colour tags and (2) keyword synonyms, which are not at all ported to C1. Is there a way to do this?
Thanks!

G

sanphotgn
Posts: 383
Joined: 26 Aug 07 18:06

Re: beginner's questions: keywords, JPG+RAW etc

Post by sanphotgn » 12 Nov 17 18:27

guill69f wrote:
12 Nov 17 11:14
I have activated the trial version of Photo Supreme and I have some questions in mind:
  • is it possible to export keyword lists from Photo Supreme to my desktop, in case I would like to import the list into another program?
Go to the menu: Data - Export to Formatted Vocabulary File.
guill69f wrote:
12 Nov 17 11:14
  • is there a way to automatically generate xmp files while doing edits in Photo
I shoot only RAW these days and Photo Supreme automatically creates the XMP files. Settings related to this are located under: Preferences - Synchronize Settings - Write settings.
Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2602 (64 bits) (Windows)

Hert
Posts: 20321
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: beginner's questions: keywords, JPG+RAW etc

Post by Hert » 12 Nov 17 19:08

guill69f wrote:
12 Nov 17 11:14
  • and last, for now, I have noticed that all my edits in Photo Supreme (keywords, rating etc) are properly manage in Capture One, except (1) colour tags and (2) keyword synonyms, which are not at all ported to C1. Is there a way to do this?
They are written to XMP. Maybe C1 can explain why they are not read in C1.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

guill69f
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Nov 17 9:22

Re: beginner's questions: keywords, JPG+RAW etc

Post by guill69f » 12 Nov 17 22:38

Go to the menu: Data - Export to Formatted Vocabulary File
Shame on me: I opened this menu many times but did not see the "Export" among all the other "Import" commands
Settings related to this are located under: Preferences - Synchronize Settings - Write settings.
thanks, got it to work now, that's perfect. I see that hidden there there are also some keyword related options, including that should enable to export synonyms of keywords if I get it right.
They are written to XMP. Maybe C1 can explain why they are not read in C1.
Yes, i could do that. But i am also testing Photo Mechanic now, and they have developed some configuration files which match the rating / colour information to the raw editor you are using so that values assigned under PM are transferred to Capture One. Maybe I'll find on this forum users who have found a solution in their workflow

Larry56
Posts: 342
Joined: 05 Jul 10 6:57

Re: beginner's questions: keywords, JPG+RAW etc

Post by Larry56 » 14 Nov 17 6:19

I have found some odd issues with C1 and color labels. You need to check the settings in C1 as far as how metadata is written. I've played around with those settings but couldn't get it to work for my needs.

One odd thing in C1 is that if you have a RAW with "Yellow" but the matching jpg not color labeled in PhotoSupreme C1 will apply the color label of the RAW to the jpg - at least as far as it's displayed. Changing the RAW to another color in PSu results in some odd issues too.

C1 also uses a "None" as a color label and PhotoSupreme doesn't (nor L as I recall) so when changing a color label in C1 to None it actually writes that to the metadata.

I should note that this was with v9 and I think an early release of v10. I'm not sure how it all works with the latest version as I don't rely on color labels if I'm going to use C1.

User avatar
fbungarz
Posts: 3122
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Galapagos, Ecuador

Re: beginner's questions: keywords, JPG+RAW etc

Post by fbungarz » 17 Nov 17 23:51

C1 unfortunately is notorious for ignoring metadata standards and even corrupting some XMP data, like lens info. This has been discussed at length at various places on this forum. Several PSu users even approached them, complaining about this metadata corruption and were told PSu is at fault.

Post Reply