PSU and Capture One?

Post Reply
RobiWan
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Nov 17 9:14

PSU and Capture One?

Post by RobiWan » 03 Nov 17 19:05

Hello,

does someone work with Capture One as RAW Editor and PSU? If yes can you please describe your workflow

Cheers

hesee
Posts: 14
Joined: 07 Jul 14 19:20

Re: PSU and Capture One?

Post by hesee » 04 Nov 17 10:05

I used to do following:
- Import in PSU. Culling.
- Open C1 from PSU (using single session)
- Prosess photos, delete few more photos.
- Export main version jpg.
- Verify folder in PSU. Despite rules version stacking is allways hit and miss. So i create versions, select jpg:s and set those as main versions.
- Add keywords, GPS cordinates , sort to albums etc.
- Name photos and folder in PSU. (my way of marking, that folder has been prosessed).

Now with lack of high dpi support and PSU no longer renames/deletes C1 session sidecar files (either fault with v10 or with refs partition). I am mostly ditching PSU. So i have planned to switch following workflow:

- Import with C1.
- Culling and prosessing in C1 using C1 catalog.
- Rename with C1.
- Add to albums, etc in C1.
- Sync folder with PSU.
- Add keywords, GPS cordinates etc with PSU.
- Reload metadata in C1.

Photos are blurry with 4k display with photo supreme, so organizing photos to albums is pointless as when viewed they look like junk. Keywords and metadata handling: C1 does understand hierarcical keywords, etc and it can be set to full metadata sync or just use reload metadata feature. Dual catalogs, but as upside i don't have to fight with renaming issues (C10 and session/refs) and creating viewable copies to PSU. And PSU catalog becames expandable as it can allways be rebuild, as only keywords mater anymore.

So i can still use best part of PSU: Adding keywords and gps data and finding photos with missing metadata. Otherwise PSU has no use.

RobiWan
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Nov 17 9:14

Re: PSU and Capture One?

Post by RobiWan » 04 Nov 17 10:48

Hi hesee,

thank you for your answer.
hesee wrote:
04 Nov 17 10:05
Now with lack of high dpi support
...
...
Photos are blurry with 4k display with photo supreme
Does PSU don't support hidpi Displays? If not yet - is there a timeline for implementation?

hesee
Posts: 14
Joined: 07 Jul 14 19:20

Re: PSU and Capture One?

Post by hesee » 04 Nov 17 13:16

RobiWan wrote:
04 Nov 17 10:48
Does PSU don't support hidpi Displays? If not yet - is there a timeline for implementation?
Idimager does not release roadmaps or speculate about features. That feature request has been open for 1.5 years, so my opinnion about implementation timeline is "never" and i am migrating away.

Mke
Posts: 265
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: PSU and Capture One?

Post by Mke » 04 Nov 17 15:02

You can add your name to hesee's implementation request if you wish: http://mantis.idimager.com/view.php?id=3066

Stephen
Posts: 533
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: PSU and Capture One?

Post by Stephen » 04 Nov 17 19:12

I personally don't see the point of HiDPI displays, but that is my opinion. Many of these display cannot be calibrated accurately and that is important for me as a photographer. I returned my Mac 'retina' display, as Apple got it all wrong. Primarily, the menu fonts became reduced to 4 point or something miniscule (in many applications), so that it was impossible to work. I bought an EIZO which can be calibrated and shows me all I need.

P.S. I don't want to be regarded as a "fan boy" who will never criticize the product he is using, but I don't get the point.
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2604. I stand behind the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

hesee
Posts: 14
Joined: 07 Jul 14 19:20

Re: PSU and Capture One?

Post by hesee » 04 Nov 17 20:25

Stephen wrote:
04 Nov 17 19:12
I personally don't see the point of HiDPI displays, but that is my opinion. Many of these display cannot be calibrated accurately and that is important for me as a photographer. I returned my Mac 'retina' display, as Apple got it all wrong. Primarily, the menu fonts became reduced to 4 point or something miniscule (in many applications), so that it was impossible to work. I bought an EIZO which can be calibrated and shows me all I need.
Because whole point of scaling is not to have those 4 point or something fonts and ui elements. Personally i have wide gamut screen, with hardware calibiration. It gets colors just right and photos look stunning as they are not downsized that much when viewed. It gets even more important on laptops: fullhd is now new default resolution on 12.5 or 13" screens. Mac and windows were build originally to 96 dpi screens, hd resolution would require 22.5" screen to archive that dpi level..

Photo supreme doesn't scale up, so it's forcing us to choose between miniscule ui, or forcing dumb scaling from operating system side. Later feels like viewing 800x600 pic enlarged to fullscreen. Sure it's big, but it's blocky and details aren't just there. Excatly same happens on application without scaling support: it's draw small and enlarged just like a picture to bigger resolution, because application doesn't know how to do it by itself. Whole point of scaling is that you get same sized applications as you used to, but they use a lot more pixels to draw it. Text, ui elements, pictures - everything is just a lot sharper.

Stephen
Posts: 533
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: PSU and Capture One?

Post by Stephen » 04 Nov 17 20:36

hesee wrote:
04 Nov 17 20:25
Stephen wrote:
04 Nov 17 19:12
I personally don't see the point of HiDPI displays, but that is my opinion. Many of these display cannot be calibrated accurately and that is important for me as a photographer. I returned my Mac 'retina' display, as Apple got it all wrong. Primarily, the menu fonts became reduced to 4 point or something miniscule (in many applications), so that it was impossible to work. I bought an EIZO which can be calibrated and shows me all I need.
Because whole point of scaling is not to have those 4 point or something fonts and ui elements... It gets even more important on laptops: fullhd is now new default resolution on 12.5 or 13" screens.
I disagree. Some years ago, my new 15" MacBook Pro produced the tiny 4 point fonts, not the other way around! I exchanged it for the older non-Retina version. However, I don't use a laptop for editing because it cannot be calibrated properly, so editing is done back at base when connect with the EIZO. I remain unconvinced.
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2604. I stand behind the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

hesee
Posts: 14
Joined: 07 Jul 14 19:20

Re: PSU and Capture One?

Post by hesee » 04 Nov 17 21:16

Stephen wrote:
04 Nov 17 20:36
I disagree. Some years ago, my new 15" MacBook Pro produced the tiny 4 point fonts, not the other way around! I exchanged it for the older non-Retina version. However, I don't use a laptop for editing because it cannot be calibrated properly, so editing is done back at base when connect with the EIZO. I remain unconvinced.
Well PSU is now that tiny 4 point font application. It's not monitor fault or apple/microsoft fault, it's software fault.

Now it goes like this:
- New shiny monitor with high resolution.
- You tell operating system that i want to things to be this big. That's the scaling request.
- You start an application. Operating system tells to application that you have to be "this" big.

Now three things can happen:
1) Application says "What? Programmer never told me how to do that.". You get those 4 point fonts.
2) You tell operating system that make it big by force. You get enlarged application with blurry ui and photos, just like resized picture.
3) Application has support for scaling. You get perfectly sized application with razor sharp photos and text.

Stephen
Posts: 533
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: PSU and Capture One?

Post by Stephen » 05 Nov 17 10:21

I don't get the point of a HiRES monitor, but that is your decision.

If you are using a Mac, then you might be having a Font management problem which the OS does not do well. If you look in the FontBook.app you will see how many duplicate fonts are scattered around on your system. I had this problem and solved it, but take care! There is a great guide by a font expert, whose name I don't recollect.
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2604. I stand behind the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

Mke
Posts: 265
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: PSU and Capture One?

Post by Mke » 06 Nov 17 15:23

Stephen wrote:
05 Nov 17 10:21
I don't get the point of a HiRES monitor, but that is your decision.
I don't have a hires monitor - yet - but one key advantage for me would be to proof images on-screen with greater pixel densities prior to printing.

RobiWan
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Nov 17 9:14

Re: PSU and Capture One?

Post by RobiWan » 06 Nov 17 20:04

Hopla is not good what I read so. I will test it in the coming days on my XPS 15" with 4K Display.

Post Reply