Server Edition and Single User

RobiWan

Server Edition and Single User

Post by RobiWan » 03 Nov 17 19:01

Hello,

I'm new to Photo Supreme and I will create my own workflow - how I can best work with

My idea is to buy a Server version, that I can work with PSU at home from my Desktop(s) PC's (I'm only one user but I have different PC's). Now when I go traveling, I take my laptop with me and the photos I take will give them stars rating and keywords. For this I can but the single User version.

But the big question is - when I'm at home again, how I can always import my single user catalog from laptop into my server catalog?

/I knot there is a thread about Travel Mode. But this is to complicated for me - catalog backup, restore, travel mode and again backup........ There are to much manual steps I think./

Can this work with server and Single User edition?

Cheers

fbungarz

Re: Server Edition and Single User

Post by fbungarz » 09 Nov 17 23:42

I presume this may perhaps work only if you only use the server version and do not switch. I doubt you can open the sever version of catalog with the standalone version and vice versa. AFAIK - the standalone uses SQLite and the server version hooks up to various different SQL backends, MySQL, PostGre etc. Hooking up SQLite to all these different ones, I doubt that works without glitches...
Now, there might be an alternative. As a workaround you might be able to use WAMPSERVER. It simulates a server on your laptop. Not sure though if anyone has actually tried this...

RobiWan

Post by RobiWan » 12 Nov 17 14:47

I believe you don't have understand my intention. I will work on my laptop with standalone version (SQLITE) and at home with server version (PostgreSQL).
I will don't open server catalog on my laptop or my sqlite Database on server. What I need and asked was - on server import my standalone database after I'm back at home.

I will test this workflow at the end this month.

Mke

Post by Mke » 15 Nov 17 15:40