Labels assign to field "State"

Phosy
Posts: 43
Joined: 05 Aug 17 10:15

Labels assign to field "State"

Post by Phosy » 21 Sep 17 14:16

How can I assign predefined labels to an XMP field? For example the field "State" the cantons of Switzerland.

Thanks for help.

DirkS
moderator
Posts: 5228
Joined: 25 May 08 14:28
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by DirkS » 21 Sep 17 19:01

I can't check the exact details ATM, but there's a field in the label details to write the label to virtually any metadata field.
Right click on the label to get access.
Problems searching the forum? Try Google Site Search by adding 'site:forum.idimager.com' to a standard Google search.

Phosy
Posts: 43
Joined: 05 Aug 17 10:15

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by Phosy » 22 Sep 17 7:32

OK. Many thanks.

BTW It would be nice if someone could describe the whole functionality of PhotoSupreme! I read the English cataloging Ver. 0.35 But I do not have the certainty of understanding it yet to implement it ... English is obviously not my mother tongue.

I would gladly pay for such a Handbook!

DirkS
moderator
Posts: 5228
Joined: 25 May 08 14:28
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by DirkS » 22 Sep 17 19:15

Have you checked the docs listed in the 'help' menu?
Problems searching the forum? Try Google Site Search by adding 'site:forum.idimager.com' to a standard Google search.

Phosy
Posts: 43
Joined: 05 Aug 17 10:15

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by Phosy » 23 Sep 17 10:41

Yes, as I was writing above. I read the English Paper "cataloging Ver. 0.35". But it did not give light to my thoughts. Sorry.

Stephen
Posts: 524
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by Stephen » 23 Sep 17 17:08

Select Catalog > By Category > Places > Europe > Switzerland
So far, these are default setting created by PSu.

Then right click on one of the cities, in my case Basel and you will see the mapping. You also need to set it to “create keyword for this label”, because that is not set by default. I do not have cantons set up, but you can do that easily. In that case you create a canton and set the parent of that canton as Switzerland. It is mapped to:
photoshop:State,Iptc4xmpExt:LocationCreated.Iptc4xmpExt:ProvinceState
You can see how it is done if you look up the United States and verify how the individual states are mapped.

Then you can set your new canton as the parent of Basel and you are ready to go.
Attachments
Photo SupremeScreenSnapz170.jpg
Photo SupremeScreenSnapz170.jpg (115.63 KiB) Viewed 635 times
Photo SupremeScreenSnapz169.jpg
Photo SupremeScreenSnapz169.jpg (111.32 KiB) Viewed 635 times
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2604. I stand behind the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

Phosy
Posts: 43
Joined: 05 Aug 17 10:15

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by Phosy » 24 Sep 17 14:26

Thank you very much! Just two more questions:
For what for is “apply detail profile”?
What must I do, that in de Panel “Details”, these flags are suggested to use. That is, when I put my cursor on the field %xmp:photoshop:State (Bundesland/Kanton), and start with for example "Z" ZH or ZG is suggested?

I would like to avoid using different words for the same term. For example, zh, ZH, Zürich, Zuerich...

Stephen
Posts: 524
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by Stephen » 24 Sep 17 15:07

Phosy wrote:
24 Sep 17 14:26
For what for is “apply detail profile”?
There is a lot to learn about PSu and I don’t know that answer. I am sure one of the expert here will respond.
Phosy wrote:
24 Sep 17 14:26
What must I do, that in de Panel “Details”, these flags are suggested to use. That is, when I put my cursor on the field %xmp:photoshop:State (Bundesland/Kanton), and start with for example "Z" ZH or ZG is suggested?

I would like to avoid using different words for the same term. For example, zh, ZH, Zürich, Zuerich...
If you use Zuerich once in the Details panel, then it will be suggested the next time. However, I have learned that it is best NOT to use the Details panel for the “Image Content fields”. It is safer to use the Assign panel for that purpose.

If you select:
Select Catalog > By Category > Places > Europe > Switzerland
then you can always see which labels have already been allocated and you can drop images onto these labels.
Photo SupremeScreenSnapz171.jpg
Photo SupremeScreenSnapz171.jpg (27.82 KiB) Viewed 578 times
Or when you are in Assign, you can type the word you want in the right corner of your screen, using the second magnifyer from the top. It will show you if that word have been assigned and if not, then you have the option to add it.
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2604. I stand behind the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

DirkS
moderator
Posts: 5228
Joined: 25 May 08 14:28
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by DirkS » 24 Sep 17 19:25

Phosy wrote:
24 Sep 17 14:26
For what for is “apply detail profile”?
In general you could say that detail profiles are used to modify multiple metadata fields in multiple images.
You can apply them ad-hoc (from the menu), during ingestion and when applying catalog labels (and maybe elsewhere too).

Easiest way to see what it is, is by selecting the Details view. Then choose the Profiles drop-down at the top of the Details panel.
Use 'Create' to open an editor window and you should now have all the fields from the Detail panel available for editing.
Click on a dot on the right to select the action (clear, do not change, etc).
In this way you can not only add the name of the Catalog label to a metadata field (as you would do with Mapping) but you can make pretty much any change you want to any number of metadata fields.
Problems searching the forum? Try Google Site Search by adding 'site:forum.idimager.com' to a standard Google search.

Phosy
Posts: 43
Joined: 05 Aug 17 10:15

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by Phosy » 26 Sep 17 7:11

Just one remark. I wrote two Flags in the Field %xmp:lptc4xmpEXT:PersonOnImage (detail profile). But no relation for this field is made somewhere. Then hit the OK button and PSu synchronized the pictures, but nothing happens. That means, the flags where not associated in the field.

But when I defined a new category, and related these two flags to that field, all is fine.
Is this behaviour ok?

Phosy
Posts: 43
Joined: 05 Aug 17 10:15

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by Phosy » 29 Sep 17 11:26

Sorry to bring up this issue again.

When I'm creating a flag on the left side without mapping to a specifique field, and then drag and drop some pictures over it. So the flag will be connect to these photos, but just in the database. Right?
But I cannot write these flags to the file of these pictures, to the XMP data, of course. Right?

Sorry, but I try to get to the ground with this issue.

Stephen
Posts: 524
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by Stephen » 29 Sep 17 12:12

Perhaps you could supply a screenshot to illustrate what you are trying to do?
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2604. I stand behind the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

Hert
Posts: 20310
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by Hert » 30 Sep 17 8:58

Stephen wrote:
29 Sep 17 12:12
Perhaps you could supply a screenshot to illustrate what you are trying to do?
And a screenshot of your Sync-Write and Sync-Read settings
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Phosy
Posts: 43
Joined: 05 Aug 17 10:15

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by Phosy » 01 Oct 17 8:56

As I was going through the process, step by step, I saw that the Flag will be added in the Field "Keywords" !

So If I do not declare a specifique XMP-Field, it will be writen in the Field "Keywords". Did I get it right?

Here are the two settings:

Thanks for checking it!
Pic03.jpg
Pic03.jpg (77.13 KiB) Viewed 326 times
Pic04.jpg
Pic04.jpg (60.72 KiB) Viewed 326 times

Hert
Posts: 20310
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Labels assign to field "State"

Post by Hert » 01 Oct 17 11:07

Can you also provide the screenshot that Stephen asked for?

Also, you keep using the word "Flag", but what is a "flag"?
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Post Reply