change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

nikcob
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Jun 16 15:30

change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by nikcob » 15 Aug 17 9:55

When opening the geotag panel there is an announcement that I'm using a browser that isn't supported by the javascript-api from google maps. Looking at the properties (right click) I see that there is indeed the internet explorer icon and the type is "chrome html document". Is it possible to change this browser into chrome and how does this work? Or is it something that has been done by Idimager?
My default browser is chrome and I'm never using internet explorer

User avatar
snowman1
Posts: 307
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by snowman1 » 15 Aug 17 11:54

Strange - my default browser is firefox and I don't have any problems (in this regard) with the geotag panel.
What exactly do you right click to show the properties you mention? I can try doing the same and let you know what I see.
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

AltoonaBound
Posts: 46
Joined: 06 Jan 10 17:56

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by AltoonaBound » 15 Aug 17 17:06

Getting the same message. I assume PSU is using the embedded IE? If I paste the url to either Mozilla or full IE, it works. If I click on the "show coordinates on Google Maps...", it works. Whats going on?
Eric

Hert
Posts: 20352
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by Hert » 16 Aug 17 7:12

Psu indeed uses I.E. on Windows. This is the only browser that is guaranteed to be there on a Windows installation

Make sure that you install all Windows updates. Also make sure that you update I.E. to the latest version.
Also check this: https://support.google.com/maps/answer/3118069?hl=en
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

AltoonaBound
Posts: 46
Joined: 06 Jan 10 17:56

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by AltoonaBound » 17 Aug 17 17:23

IE version 11.0.9600.18762 installed on Win7 SP1 Pro. All current updates to Win7 are installed. What else can I check?
Eric

Hert
Posts: 20352
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by Hert » 18 Aug 17 3:25

Did you also check the link I sent you?
You could also ask google why maps don't work on your win7 plus IE?

I can't reproduce it, no errors here. Fwiw; I am using win 10 of course with all updates installed. Win7 hasn't been supported since 2015. It's a dangerous OS to use by now.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

AltoonaBound
Posts: 46
Joined: 06 Jan 10 17:56

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by AltoonaBound » 18 Aug 17 11:47

As I said before, this does not appear to be an IE issue. I can paste the URL for the geo data into IE and it works without a problem. I think this is a Google API problem. Since the issue came up without a PSU or IE update, I would surmise that Google changed something.

Yes, I did try the resolution in the link with no joy.
Eric

AltoonaBound
Posts: 46
Joined: 06 Jan 10 17:56

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by AltoonaBound » 18 Aug 17 12:13

Here's the link to Google's compatibility list:

https://developers.google.com/maps/docu ... sersupport

My compatibility list is empty.
Eric

User avatar
snowman1
Posts: 307
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by snowman1 » 18 Aug 17 15:17

I use W7, no issues with maps.

Whilst this isn't the forum to discuss this, in the interests of avoiding scaremongering I don't think it is right to say "W7 is a dangerous system to use by now". While mainstream support ended in 2015, extended support is until 2020. It is still the cornerstone of many business (for a variety of good and bad reasons).

Links:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/hel ... fact-sheet
https://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/08/1 ... kill_plan/
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Usage_sha ... ng_systems
http://www.netmarketshare.com/operating ... pcustomd=0
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

AltoonaBound
Posts: 46
Joined: 06 Jan 10 17:56

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by AltoonaBound » 21 Aug 17 1:47

And MS was still pushing security updates, at least up to June 13 of this year, for XP.
Eric

AltoonaBound
Posts: 46
Joined: 06 Jan 10 17:56

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by AltoonaBound » 21 Aug 17 2:46

Further investigation, it doesn't matter what your default browser is, PSU uses the embedded IE browser and it doesn't change the behavior. Also, if you click to view the map in the full browser, no such msg appears. Another observation, if you switch from non-Geo Tag, you get the msg. If you switch from one image to another with Geo Tag open, no msg. This is getting very annoying. Some sort of Google API init issue?
Eric

User avatar
snowman1
Posts: 307
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by snowman1 » 21 Aug 17 18:57

I have just updated PSU to 2603, and this error has started appearing for me now. On the plus side, if I click on dismiss everything still seems to work ok. Because of the timing I am thinking something has changed in 2603 but this might be just co-incidence - Eric, is that your experience too?
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

Phosy
Posts: 46
Joined: 05 Aug 17 10:15

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by Phosy » 22 Aug 17 17:56

Me too! The same error message like nikcob described. Version 2603.

User avatar
snowman1
Posts: 307
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by snowman1 » 25 Aug 17 0:10

Also 2603 seems to have broken portfolio collection Flickr sync. Since updating - it forced me to re-authenticate - sync does nothing at all, like it thinks there is nothing to sync. And if I select images and upload that way, the duplicate upload bug is STILL there. This was reported on Mantis 9 months ago.
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

Hert
Posts: 20352
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: change browser for google maps in geotagging panel??

Post by Hert » 25 Aug 17 1:36

That Google started to display a message is not a PSU bug. It's google who decided to display a message in an i.e. Embedded browser. Microsoft should probably upgrade the I.E. engine, but I can't change I.E. and I can't change Maps. And it's not a matter of using the installed browser. PSU does more than showing maps...it interacts with maps. And software can't interact with a browser, it can interact with a software API and that is what Microsoft offers with I.E.
The message may be annoying but it's a matter of clicking it away. Thanks Google. Tip, report this to Microsoft...they need to probably fix something in their engine which made google decide to display this message.

And it's certainly not 2063 related. As mentioned in whatsnew, all 2063 addresses is the Flickr authentication. Could be that affects the Flickr sync as that needs to connect and authenticate with Flickr, I'd have to check that. Did you already re-authenticate in your PSU-Flickr profile? You must do that because Flickr changed their authentication method.

And fwiw, when you select image and choose upload, then it is supposed to do that: upload. Regardless if that image is already there, it will be uploaded. It's not a sync feature but an upload feature. That might have been reported 9 months ago by someone as a "bug" but that doesn't mean it *is* a bug.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Post Reply