Importing an Aperture Library - Nothing Happening

Post Reply
DetroitPhotog
Posts: 17
Joined: 08 Aug 15 18:33

Importing an Aperture Library - Nothing Happening

Post by DetroitPhotog » 19 Feb 17 22:51

I've finally decided to import some of my Aperture libraries. So far I have gone to the Data menu in PSU and clicked on the "Import from Aperture" item and then pointed the file dialog to my Aperture library. Nothing seems to happen - there is no activity indicated in the left-hand pane - it says "Activities (no processes). The disk is not being accessed and nothing seems to be happening.

I've tried to look for the manual entries relating to Aperture imports via the Quickstart options in the Help menu and have found nothing yet. Could someone please point me to the manual section that covers Aperture imports and where I can find it? Also, is there a full manual for PSU rather than the Quickstart items in the help menu?

Any help appreciated!

Thanks!

Hert
Posts: 20255
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Importing an Aperture Library - Nothing Happening

Post by Hert » 20 Feb 17 17:59

You should use the latest version of Aperture (and stared it st least once)

Start the import from the data menu

Select the folder that represents your Aperture library

Start the import


More in general, I don't recommend that you import from Aperture (you'll also import the erroneous entries in there and also the extensive XMP isn't in their library and so after import you'll miss most of the valuable data that is in your metadata). Best to I mport from the file system using PSU's import module.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

DetroitPhotog
Posts: 17
Joined: 08 Aug 15 18:33

Re: Importing an Aperture Library - Nothing Happening

Post by DetroitPhotog » 23 Feb 17 16:00

Thanks, Hert, I will import via the FileSystem import.

Cheers!

Post Reply