how to display jpg on version set

Post Reply
spon
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Jan 17 6:32

how to display jpg on version set

Post by spon » 30 Jan 17 6:37

Hi everyone,

I have what I hope is a simple question that is absolutely driving me crazy. I would simply like to use version sets for my Raw and Jpg files, so that the jpg always shows in the display. No matter what I try, I can't see to do it. I've tried setting the Raw and master and Jpg as album display. I've tried setting the Jpg as master. No matter what I do, I can't consistent results. It's super frustrating.

If I can't figure this out, I'm going to have to go back to Lightroom. I really love many aspects of PSu, but the Raw previews look nothing at all like what they should, so I want to use the developed Jpgs as the display thumbnail.

Any ideas? Thanks!

vlad
Posts: 965
Joined: 01 Sep 08 15:20

Re: how to display jpg on version set

Post by vlad » 30 Jan 17 11:04

Hi, are you saying that you've set the jpg's as the Main versions but you're still seeing the Raw subversions in your collection? Which collection (view) do you employ?

tstoddard
Posts: 560
Joined: 07 Sep 12 12:51

Re: how to display jpg on version set

Post by tstoddard » 30 Jan 17 12:55

Setting jpgs as the main version should accomplish what you want. There are two places where you can set a preference to make your jpgs the main version. One is in "Preferences | Catalog | Versioning | Main version detection method", there are several choices there, I have mine set to "First JPEG else RAW". The other place is in the import wizard, under the Apply versioning checkbox there is a "Version rule" setting. I have mine set to "JPEG as main version".

With that said, please understand that when viewing collections by Folder, as well as some other views, both the jpg and raw thumbnails will be visible if they are both in the same folder. You can hide the raw files by using the filter bar and selecting jpg as the file type. If you have version sets where the raw is still set as the main version, you will need to change those manually.

If your program still doesn't work with the preferences set as described above then something else must be going on. Is it possible that your raw and jpg files are stored in different folders and you are viewing a collection by folder and you have a folder selected that only has the raw files in it?
Tom Stoddard

Mke
Posts: 272
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: how to display jpg on version set

Post by Mke » 30 Jan 17 15:10

tstoddard wrote:With that said, please understand that when viewing collections by Folder, as well as some other views, both the jpg and raw thumbnails will be visible if they are both in the same folder. You can hide the raw files by using the filter bar and selecting jpg as the file type.
In folder view, you can also get around both being visible by putting the RAW files in a subfolder.

vlad
Posts: 965
Joined: 01 Sep 08 15:20

Re: how to display jpg on version set

Post by vlad » 30 Jan 17 16:29

Mke wrote: In folder view, you can also get around both being visible by putting the RAW files in a subfolder.
Just make sure you don't click the image counter in the folder view, since that would trigger hierarchical viewing, including subfolders.

User avatar
fbungarz
Posts: 3122
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Galapagos, Ecuador

Re: how to display jpg on version set

Post by fbungarz » 30 Jan 17 19:42

It is unfortunate that filtering for versions according to placeholders does not work very well. I have filed several Mantis requests, how I believe versioning could considerably be improved.
Unfortunately not much has happened in that regard. For those interested to improve versions, please consider voting in support of:

spon
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Jan 17 6:32

Re: how to display jpg on version set

Post by spon » 30 Jan 17 20:44

Thanks for the replies everyone!

Let me give a little more information about my setup. I do have the option set in Preferences for Main version as First JPEG else RAW. When I import my images they are RAW only. I then edit the Raw files externally (CaptureOne) and export JPEGs from C1 back into the folder with the Raw files. After that I verify the folders in PSu (versioning option checked), which will pull in the new jpg files. This does automatically combine the different file versions together, however what I see on the screen is odd. Some of the thumbnails will show the main version (jpg), while others will show the other version (raw). I can't get consistency in how it's displayed on the screen.

On a related note, would it make more sense for an image marked as placeholder for Album Display to actually be used for the thumbnail rather than the main version? Logically, the main version would be the Raw negative and the Album Display version should be used as the display thumbnail. no?

I did vote on several of the bugs, as well.

*edit* - In addition, when I am in the Color Label section, I see a mixture of 3 scenarios: 1) both raw and jpg are show separately, however both thumbnails contain both versions 2) thumbs are stacked correctly, but Raw (non-main version) is incorrectly showing as the thumb 3) thumbs are stacked correctly and the jpg (main version) is correctly showing as the thumb.

tstoddard
Posts: 560
Joined: 07 Sep 12 12:51

Re: how to display jpg on version set

Post by tstoddard » 30 Jan 17 23:59

spon,

I think what is confusing you is the fact that your viewing context will affect which thumbnails you see. For example, when viewing a specific folder, you should see a thumbnail for every file that is in the folder. That means that if your jpgs and raw files are in the same folder you will see a thumbnail for each one. Each will also have tabs along the side of the thumbnail for each version in the version set. Basically, anytime a file is part of a version set, it will always have tabs along the side so that you can view the other versions if you want. Lets call that a "stack". Often, after import or folder verification, the stacks aren't sorted in a logical manner so you may only see the stacks with the raw thumbnails display and then the jpgs later in the collection. It is often helpful to refresh your view when viewing collections. Especially right after importing or verifying folders. You can do this in Windows with Ctl + R. That will usually resort files so that the different stacks for each version set will appear side by side.

In the case of color labels, it is possible to have different color labels for different versions within a set. The same color label can be assigned to one or all of the versions or any number in between. So, if, for example, you assigned a red label to the raw file and to the jpg, you should see a stack for each file with a different version (thumbnail) being displayed on each stack. If you had a red label assigned to the raw file and not to the jpg, you should only see one stack with the raw thumbnail being displayed when you are viewing a collection of images with red labels assigned.

In the case of catalog labels, whenever you assign a catalog label to one file in a version set, every file gets that same label assignment. It is impossible to have a label assigned or unassigned to one version in a set and not another. Because of that, when you view a collection based on a label, you will only see one stack and by default it will have the thumbnail or the main version displayed.

I hope you're getting the logic here. In collections where all images in a version set would always be the same, then only one stack will be in the collection for each version set. In collections where it is possible for different files within the same version set to not be equal, you may see more than one stack for one version set. Each stack will have a different thumbnail displayed.

I'm guessing that this is what is happening to you. If I'm wrong, I apologize for the lengthy explanation. I just know that this behavior is somewhat confusing. I was confused by it at first. There are other subtleties related to the display of version sets but I won't get into that here. It would just confuse matters more.
Tom Stoddard

spon
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Jan 17 6:32

Re: how to display jpg on version set

Post by spon » 31 Jan 17 0:25

Thanks Tom.

I really appreciate the detailed explanation and it does make sense for the most part, but I don't think it's necessarily the behavior that I'm seeing. Here is a concrete example.

I'm in the main By Color Label view. Let's say I have 5 different photos and each of them are in raw + jpg, so 10 total files. All 10 of them have the same color label. The raw and jpgs have exactly the same file name. I will then right click and use the Version Detection option. Here is what happens:

- 1 of the photos shows raw + jpg correct stacked, the jpg correct set as main version and the jpg correctly displaying as the thumb
- 1 of the photos shows raw + jpg correct stacked, the jpg correct set as main version but the raw incorrectly displaying as the thumb
- 3 of the photos shows raw + jpg stacked, but both versions are showing (along with the tabs on both, as you described)

So instead of having 5 stacks of 2 photos each, I have 8 stacks. I could understand if all 10 were showing (as it does in file folder view) or ideally only 5 would show, but it's the inconsistent behavior that is really irritating.

I should also mention that if I run Version Detection on more than 20-30 photos at a time, Photo Supreme will lock up and I have to kill it from the task manager. This happens consistently on my Surface Pro 3, Windows 10.

Thanks again for the help guys.

Mke
Posts: 272
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: how to display jpg on version set

Post by Mke » 31 Jan 17 1:09

spon wrote:So instead of having 5 stacks of 2 photos each, I have 8 stacks. I could understand if all 10 were showing (as it does in file folder view) or ideally only 5 would show, but it's the inconsistent behavior that is really irritating.
That's after refreshing the display? Strange.
For me it works as expected - though I don't use that view frequently. I differ from your setup in that I keep RAWs in subfolders, so maybe this is affecting things.
spon wrote:I should also mention that if I run Version Detection on more than 20-30 photos at a time, Photo Supreme will lock up and I have to kill it from the task manager. This happens consistently on my Surface Pro 3, Windows 10.
I was experiencing that a few months back too, but it's been OK for some time now on both my desktop and laptop - I'm currently using build 2582 (but on Win 8.1).

spon
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Jan 17 6:32

Re: how to display jpg on version set

Post by spon » 02 Feb 17 19:32

Hi Mke.

I figured out the 2nd issue (PSu locking up) was due to two particular files. Once I removed them, it runs fine.

The 1st issue of random stacks vs non-stacks and the main version not showing on top continues to happen.

Mke
Posts: 272
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: how to display jpg on version set

Post by Mke » 03 Feb 17 13:32

spon wrote:The 1st issue of random stacks vs non-stacks and the main version not showing on top continues to happen.
And if you move the JPGs to a sub-folder?

Post Reply